Switch to desktop edition
Switch to mobile edition


Syrah is a red wine grape. Syrah is called Shiraz in New World wines.

Tasting notes

Wines made from Shiraz are often quite powerfully flavoured and full-bodied. The variety produces wines with a wide range of flavor notes, depending on the climate and soils where it is grown, as well as other viticultural practices chosen. Aroma characters can range from violets to berries, chocolate, espresso and black pepper. No one aroma can be called "typical" though blackberry and pepper are often noticed. With time in the bottle these "primary" notes are moderated and then supplemented with earthy or savory "tertiary" notes such as leather and truffle. ("Secondary" flavor and aroma notes are those associated with winemakers' practices, such as oak barrel and yeast regimes, and are not typically associated with specific grape varieties.)


Single varietal

The following wines are 100% Syrah:

Main grape

The following wines contain at least 50% Syrah:

Significant grape

The following wines may feature Syrah as the main grape: